So I’ve been seeing this salsa all over the internet since it comes from the one and only Pioneer Woman and since it got great reviews I decided to give it a go. It was great! I like it just like her smooth and no chuncks, but of course Mr. Picky had different ideas. He tasted it and the first thing he said was “Where are the chunks?” so because of the sad look on his face I had to modifiy it. Sorry PW! And to me it did taste even a little better than the original, more fresh tasting perhaps. So give it a go, you won’t be sorry! And although I’ve been doing really well and eating better we did go to Ihop today (we were there 2times last week, yikes!) so it’s really time to hit the gym, or move to a land without Ihop!

Restaurant Style Salsa

Serves 8
Calories: 31 per serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (15 oz) whole tomatoes with juice
  • 1 can Rotel diced tomatoes and green chilies (original)
  • 1 large tomato (quartered)
  • 1/8 cup chopped onion
  • 1 clove garlic (minced)
  • canned jalapeno slices (I used 10 slices and it made it pretty spicy just the way I like it, but you can use less or more if you like)
  • 1/8 tsp sugar
  • salt to taste
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1 small lime

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a blender and pulse until it reaches the consistency you like. Try with a tortilla chip and adjust seasonings, if needed. Refrigerate for at least 2hrs and enjoy :)

Adapted from: Pioneer Woman

